About Us

“As far as we can discern, the sole purpose of human existence is to kindle a light in the darkness of mere being.”

Our Society

Founded in 1985, the C.G. Jung Society of Victoria is a non-profit charitable society registered under the Society Act of British Columbia. The Society provides an informal and welcoming forum for the presentation and exploration of Analytical Psychology as it originated with Jung and was developed further by those  who are trained in its methods.  Presentations and workshops are carried out between September and May each year that are led by Jungian analysts and scholars from across North America.  Every aspect of human experience is welcomed for psychological inquiry, from birth to death, from union to dissolution, from the highest aspects of the human spirit to its most debased.  Sources of inspiration for these inquiries range widely from records of dreams and fantasies of an individual, or of culturally shared myths and folk tales, to the symbolic expressions of art, literature, music and performance.  Every subject of human inquiry is potentially available for discussion, from alchemy and astrology to chaos theory and quantum physics.

Our Objectives

The C.G. Jung Society of Victoria strives to advance knowledge and provide a forum for the discussion of the theories and concepts of Analytical Psychology, as developed by Swiss psychiatrist and psychologist, Dr. Carl Gustav Jung. Our lectures and events provide learning opportunities for both the professional and general public, anyone who may have an interest in psychological and creative development.
We aim to reveal how Jung’s unique contributions to the understanding of the human personality are both compelling and practical for anyone interested in personal development. Our gatherings offer the opportunity to discover the personal application of Jungian theory in our own lives while connecting with others in the community.

We hope our programs intrigue you and further stimulate your explorations into Jungian Psychology.

Our Board (2023-2024)

Geneva Johnson (President)
Charles Card
(Treasurer & Webtech)
Christine Willes
Christine Ross